Presenting APPCityLife to MobileBeat 2010

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I arrived in San Francisco mid-morning Sunday in time to make the required meeting in the historic Palace Hotel‘s Grand Ballroom for a run through with the event coordinators from VentureBeat‘s team running MobileBeat 2010.  I met a few of my fellow competitors as we waited to be briefed on the details of the upcoming presentations and discovered that I would be the only woman presenting for the startup competition.  Instead of running through the slides as we thought, we were asked to simply verify that the right file was in the queue (which turned out to be quite unfortunate for a few of the competitors who had technical difficulties getting overhead projectors and live demos to work the next day).

After the preliminary meeting, I hurried out to explore the Market District and had a pleasant time wandering along the pier just a few blocks away where a lively outdoor market was well underway.  After a quick salad at a nearby coffee shop, I spent the rest of the day locked in my room practicing the presentation to make sure I would beat the 4-minute buzzer.

When I walked out onto the stage, I immediately realized that the slides were not in the order that I’d uploaded them, so I threw out my mental notes and just talked to the crowd.   I was relieved to be one of only a handful of presenters who beat the buzzer.  Feedback came from only one of the judges, selected at random from the panel consisting of Rob Coneybeer, Co-Founder and Managing Director of Shasta Ventures, Eric Duprat, General Manager of Mobile at PayPal, General Manager, Mobile, Anand Iyer, the Senior Project Manager of Windows Phone 7 Team at Microsoft, and Alan Warms, CEO of Appolicious.  Warms was selected to comment on my presentation as I exited the stage.

Presentation Slideshow

I received a lot of positive feedback both from co-competitors and attendees and learned a lot from the sessions I was able to attend at the conference.  I was also approached by a major corporation with a request to talk in the future about ways to partner, which I find quite heartening.  And, of course, the press coverage was an excellent boost for the company.  All in all, it was a great experience.

While my company didn’t win first prize in the competition, I am very pleased with APPCityLife being named one of the ten hottest mobile app startups of 2010.

About APPCityLife

APPCityLife connects people with cities through a complete end-to-end mobile and cloud platform where cities, developers, civic hackers, nonprofits, schools and enterprise can publish robust mobile apps with seamless Open Data integration. Our platform is powerful enough to support rapid prototyping for experienced coders and developers, but it is also easily accessible to those without any previous coding experience; we empower individuals to create solutions and build mobile apps which address challenges they see within their own community.
This entry was posted in MobileBeat 2010 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Presenting APPCityLife to MobileBeat 2010

  1. elizabethre says:

    Congratulations Lisa. Most folk would have freaked to find (at presentation) that
    their slides were in the wrong order. You handled that situation well. And to have
    a major player considering your company for a future partnership! Awesome. Wishing
    you all the best for lots of inquiries from those at the conference who can use your apps.

    Elizabeth

    • appcitylife says:

      Yes – it wasn’t fun to have the slides rearranged, but the hours I’d spent practicing helped me just jump into the content for that slide. I was a bundle of nerves the night before, but once I walked on the stage, it was funny – the nerves were gone. Thanks for the comment and kind words, Elizabeth!

Leave a Reply

