Heading to MobileBeat 2010

Logo

Logo

When you’re a founder of a startup and see a link that could lead to some free press or attention from the right people in the industry, you take a second look.  And when you see the entry fees are more than your paltry budget can spare, you move along and file the link under Someday.  But when there is no entry fee and nothing to lose, well, you jump in with both feet and hope for the best.

That’s how I ended up getting an invite to a mobile industry convention in San Francisco which attracts some of the top players in the industry, major venture capital firms, and enough media to catch every goof you might think of making.  A friend of mine sent me a link to a contest he thought might be a good match for my company.

I looked over the entry rules several times to make sure I wasn’t giving away anything proprietary, wasn’t agreeing to pay something after it was too late to back out, and couldn’t find a reason not to try.  It asked simple questions with limited word count on the responses.  I answered them all to the best of my ability and pushed the enter button.

And then I got up from the desk and started in on dinner for the family.  It wasn’t just a long shot to think that I stood a chance at being named one of the top 20 hottest startups of 2010.  Impossibility was more what I was thinking.

When the email arrived letting me know I’d been selected as a finalist, my first thought was, “Yep.  It was a scam.  Everyone’s a finalist, and here comes the caveat.  For only blah blah blah we can help your company blah blah blah.  But there wasn’t any language like that in the email.  After reading through it a few more times, I finally let myself get really excited.

You see, I’ve believed that APPCityLife, my company, is going to forge new ground in the way we discover things and share things about the community where we live.  But for someone in the industry to believe me?  That is powerful affirmation.

And so I am chronicling not only my journey to San Francisco to present in front of 500+ at MobileBeat 2010 but also my journey along the path from founding a startup to success.

Have a question or comment?  I’ll be happy to hear from you!

About APPCityLife

APPCityLife connects people with cities through a complete end-to-end mobile and cloud platform where cities, developers, civic hackers, nonprofits, schools and enterprise can publish robust mobile apps with seamless Open Data integration. Our platform is powerful enough to support rapid prototyping for experienced coders and developers, but it is also easily accessible to those without any previous coding experience; we empower individuals to create solutions and build mobile apps which address challenges they see within their own community.
This entry was posted in MobileBeat 2010 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heading to MobileBeat 2010

  1. elizabethre says:

    Love your new blog Lisa. 🙂

    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

